DigitalRunning.com – Finding Motivation and Scoring an Ambassadorship

As runners, we experience highs and lows.  Without warning, an amazing 10 mile run can be followed by a lousy 5K.  Sometimes we’re fast.  Other times we’re slow.  We lose weight and gain it again.  We train for races but miss key training runs.  We beat ourselves up for not training hard enough, only to prove to ourselves that we had what it takes to cross the finish line all along.

And sometimes the lowest of all lows happens – injury.  You’re sidelined from your passion, your escape, your stress relief.  The one thing in your life that you can control in all aspects – pace, distance, route, terrain – it’s gone, and with that, your motivation.

You Know You're a Runner

Yes, I’ve been there.  Quite recently, actually.  For those who have been following me, you know I’ve often mentioned about my hip/IT Band surgery for bursitis and snapping hip syndrome.  Those injuries kept me sidelined for exactly 12 months.  TWELVE MONTHS!  Gosh, it was awful.  When I saw people running, I was jealous, angry, depressed.  The list goes on.  My motivation had been sucked from me.

After my surgery in May 2013, I lost hope.  I had so many goals, and it seemed like I’d never reach them.  When did I become such a Debbie-Downer?  And how would I ever get out of this slump?

Finding Motivation

A running friend told me about DigitalRunning.com, which is pretty much like a virtual/online running club.  It offers training plans, tips, information on nutrition, gear, and injuries, race discounts, and so much more.  This alone caught my attention, but I soon stumbled across the challenges.

In a previous post, I talked about the various challenges and how awesome they are.  What I didn’t mention is that these challenges helped me find my motivation.  I’m sure some of you think that sounds silly.  But I was almost at the point of giving up on something I love dearly.  I knew my recovery from surgery would be tedious and painful.  It was even disappointing knowing that I wasn’t anywhere near my pre-surgery pace.  I had a long road ahead of me, and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to try anymore.

Just by registering for a single challenge – the Grand Slam Challenge – I was able to run in the direction of recovery (pun intended).  🙂  I started looking at positives – I AM going to finish the runDisney Dopey Challenge.  I AM going to earn 6 medals (plus 2 thanks to the Grand Slam Challenge!) for one amazingly kick ass weekend in the Happiest Place on Earth!  I AM going to run as fast as I was before surgery and even faster!  I AM!  And I will.

6 Medals for completing the Dopey Challenge! Photo Cred: runDisney

6 Medals for completing the Dopey Challenge!
Photo Cred: runDisney

DigitalRunning.com Hat Trick Challenge Medal
Photo Cred: DigitalRunning.com

DigitalRunning.com Grand Slam Challenge Medal!

DigitalRunning.com Grand Slam Challenge Medal
Photo Cred: DigitalRunning.com

DigitalRunning.com Ambassador

In early September, it was announced that DigitalRunning.com was looking for a few good ambassadors.  Digital Running helped me find my running mojo, and I wanted to share it with others.  My husband, being my number 1 fan and all, encouraged me to apply.

I immediately followed the links to the application form.  As I read through the questions on the application, I thought to myself that there is no way that I would get selected.  What could I possibly bring to the table?  I closed the application and forgot about it… Until 11:30pm on the last day the application was open.  I decided, “What the heck?  I’ll never know if I don’t try.”  I finished the application, and, again, I forgot about it.

Until I received an e-mail from DigitalRunning.com.  I opened it completely expecting it to be a rejection.  To my surprise, it wasn’t!  I had been selected to be a DigitalRunning.com ambassador.  Me! I was going to be 1 of 5 ambassadors selected from more than 50 applications!  What an incredible honor!  I was (and still am!) on Cloud 9!

Even better?!  I get to wear this sweet gear during my races in 2014!  I’m still working on my 2014 race schedule, which I’ll post soon, but I’ll definitely be rocking it during the Walt Disney World Marathon (#WDWMarathon) Weekend #DopeyChallenge!  If you see me, please say “Hello!”

Digital Running Ambassador Gear, complete with a custom Bondi Band! Love it all!

Until then, check out DigitalRunning.com‘s challenges, sweet medals, and relay teams!  Standby for the reveal of the 2014 Interstate Challenge medal (Psst… It’s awesome!)!  And of course, don’t forget to “Like” Digital Running Club on Facebook and Follow them on Twitter @DigitalRunning.

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: DigitalRunning.com – Finding Motivation and Scoring an Ambassadorship | Running for kicks

  2. Pingback: 2014 runDisney Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend – Half Marathon | Running for Kicks and Giggles

  3. Pingback: 2014 runDisney Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend – Half Marathon

Leave a Reply

